Skip to Main content Skip to Navigation

Gabriel Fauré, Requiem op. 48, version avec petit orchestre, 1889

Abstract : The “symphonic version” of Gabriel Fauré’s Requiem published in 1901 was the product of a 13-year compositional process. Starting from the original five-movement form for strings, harp and organ, the composer wrote two additional movements and expanded the instrumentation in various stages for later performances. The present reconstruction of a “version with small orchestra” differs from other such attempts in that, for the first time, it presents the work not in a mixed version, but rather in the unified form from 1889. This is distinguished from the final version both in musical terms, as well as through the fact that it forgoes the use of flutes, clarinets and bassoons, while employing only two horns instead of four.
Complete list of metadata
Contributor : Marc Rigaudière <>
Submitted on : Wednesday, November 18, 2020 - 4:31:29 PM
Last modification on : Saturday, November 28, 2020 - 4:00:24 PM




  • HAL Id : halshs-03012672, version 1



Marc Rigaudière. Gabriel Fauré, Requiem op. 48, version avec petit orchestre, 1889. Carus-Verlag, 2011. ⟨halshs-03012672⟩



Record views