What were the four Divisions of Middle Chinese ?

Abstract : Determining the nature of the four Divisions of the Qièyùn is a fundamental problem in the study of the phonetic history of Chinese. Analyses by Baxter and Pulleyblank make it possible to bring out two major changes from Old Chinese to Middle Chinese: a two-way split of the vowel system, and later the lenition of medial -r-. The use of models drawn from Mon-Khmer voice type register languages made it possible to reconstruct the phonetic bases of the four divisions. Div. I consists of tense rimes, Div. II consists of tense, velarized rimes resulting from medial -r-, Div. III consists of lax/breathy rimes. As for Div. IV, it consists of (non velarized) rimes with the diphthong ie.
Type de document :
Article dans une revue
Diachronica, John Benjamins, 2009, 26 (2), pp.184-213. 〈10.1075/dia.26.2.02fer〉
Liste complète des métadonnées

Littérature citée [43 références]  Voir  Masquer  Télécharger

Contributeur : Alexis Michaud <>
Soumis le : lundi 13 novembre 2017 - 21:17:56
Dernière modification le : jeudi 11 janvier 2018 - 06:19:18


Distributed under a Creative Commons Paternité - Pas d'utilisation commerciale - Partage selon les Conditions Initiales 4.0 International License




Michel Ferlus. What were the four Divisions of Middle Chinese ? . Diachronica, John Benjamins, 2009, 26 (2), pp.184-213. 〈10.1075/dia.26.2.02fer〉. 〈halshs-01581138v2〉



Consultations de la notice


Téléchargements de fichiers